The path to becoming the regional champions became clearer today as CONCACAF announced the Groups and match schedule for the 2015 Gold Cup. The United States are in Group A along with Panama, Haiti, and the winner of the Honduras/French Guiana playoff.  The final and 3rd place match will be played at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

usa gold cup 2013 champions

The tournament will be held in 13 cities – Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia, Phoenix, and Toronto – between July 7 and 26.

The Stars and Stripes will open the tournament against the winner of the Honduras/French Guiana playoff on July 7 at Toyota Park before heading to Gillette Stadium to face Haiti, then finishing the group stage against Panama at Sporting Park in Kansas City.

The Gold Cup serves as more than just regional bragging rights.  The regional champion earns a berth at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup, the 2018 World Cup tune-up.  As the current holders, the Stars and Stripes are in a great position.  For the first time in tournament history, the winners of the previous 2 tournaments will meet in a playoff to determine who advances to the Confederations Cup.  If the U.S. wins the 2015 Gold Cup they will advance automatically.

6-time champions Mexico start their campaign against Cuba at Soldier Field on July 9.  El Tri Colores then face Guatemala at University of Phoenix Stadium on July 12 before closing out the group stage against Trinidad and Tobago at Bank of America Stadium on July 15.

Canada, the only team other than the U.S. or Mexico to win the Gold Cup, opens their campaign against El Salvador at the Stubhub Center on July 8.  They then face Jamaica at BBCA Compass Stadium on July 11 before closing out against Costa Rica at BMO Field on July 14.

The Complete Gold Cup Schedule.

The Gold Cup quarterfinals will be held at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore and MetLife Stadium in New Jersey on July 18 and 19.  The semifinals will move south to Atlanta’s Georgia Dome on July 22 before the heading to Philly for the championship weekend.

CONCACAF 2015 Gold Cup Groups:

Group A: U.S., Panama, Haiti, and the winner of Honduras vs French Guyana

Group B: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Jamaica, Canada

Group C: Mexico, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago, Cuba